Skip to main content
All CollectionsIntegrationsChurch Windows
Church Windows Integration FAQs
Church Windows Integration FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions for the Notebird + Church Windows Integration.

Updated over a week ago

Frequently Asked Questions

Please make sure you are using the latest version of Church Windows. Answers found below apply to users who have Church Windows Version 25 (SR3) or later.

How often does my Church Windows membership data update (sync) with Notebird?

Once then initial sync is set up then your congregant information will sync into Notebird when you open Church Windows on your desktop each day. This will ensure that you have the most up-to-date information within Notebird. The sync will pause when Church Windows is closed or the computer is turned off. The sync will resume when you open Church Windows again. You can exclude certain Church Window logins (users) from trigging the sync when they log into their CW account.

If you have made changes to your Church Windows data you can manually refresh the sync by clicking the 'Upload Data Now' button within the Notebird Setup window within your Church Windows account. The wait time between each manual refresh is 1 hour.

What information syncs with Notebird?

Standard Profile Information

  • First Name, Last Name and Nickname*

  • Birthdate (Shows as Birthday in Notebird)

  • Marital Status (Shows as Relationship Status in Notebird)

  • Marriage Date (Shows as Anniversary in Notebird)

  • Related People in the same household**

  • Home, Mobile, Work & Other Phone

  • Personal, Work, Other Email

  • Home Address

  • Gender

  • Status Code (Shows as Custom ID in Notebird)

  • Active Inactive Status (Shows as Unarchived/Archived in Notebird)***

Seen in Notebird Profile Notes Section

  • Deceased Status & Deceased Date****

  • Individual & Household Comments

  • Membership Date (Membership Since)

* If no PreferredName present, then first and last name are directly used. If PreferredName present, it is used as first name and provided first name is added to profile notes as "Legal name:".

** Any relationship that is NOT specified as the following in Notebird, will be preserved when syncing with CW: Spouse, Late spouse, Fiancé, Partner, Parent, Child, Sibling, or Other

*** If a profile is made inactive in Church Windows, they will be archived in Notebird. A profile will also become archived in Notebird if marked as deceased in Church Windows (when syncing inactive profiles). If a profile is archived in Notebird, they will NOT become unarchived if made active again in Church Windows.

**** For accounts syncing in ‘Inactive’ profiles’: Shows “Deceased Date” in Notebird profile notes. Also shows “Deceased: Yes” in Notebird profile notes. That person is archived in Notebird.

**** For accounts not syncing in ‘Inactive’ profiles: The person marked inactive with the reason being ‘deceased’ will be removed from Notebird completely. (Note - If that individual had care updates and any incomplete tasks stored in Notebird then they will not be removed but moved to archived status in Notebird. We do not delete any care history.)

Does Notebird have access to financial records stored in Church Windows?

Notebird does not have access or sync with any other Church Windows modules. Notebird does not have access to any attendance records, donation receipts or financial data.

Who can access membership data and pastoral care information in Notebird?

Only users (team members) you invite to join you on Notebird will be able to access membership data and pastoral care information. Many churches give their staff, elders, and trained care volunteers access to Notebird so everyone can stay on the same page. Here is how you invite a user to your Notebird account.

Notebird users and Church Windows users are completely separate. Just because a user has access to Church Windows does not mean they can access Notebird –there are two separate logins.

Do updates, tasks and milestones show up in people's Church Windows profiles? Does that information sync both ways?

Notebird updates, custom milestones and tasks do not sync with Church Windows. Updates, tasks and milestones saved within Notebird will remain securely in Notebird.

What happens in Notebird when a person is marked as Deceased in Church Windows?

  • For accounts syncing in ‘Inactive’ profiles’: Should show “Deceased Date” in Notebird profile notes. Also should show “Deceased: Yes” in Notebird profile notes. That person is archived in Notebird.

  • For accounts not syncing in ‘Inactive’ profiles: the person marked inactive with the reason being ‘deceased’ will be removed from Notebird completely. (Note* - If that individual had care updates and any incomplete tasks stored in Notebird then they will not be removed but moved to archived status in Notebird. We do not delete any care history.)

What happens in Notebird when a person is marked as inactive in Church Windows?

You have the option to sync or not sync your inactive people from Church Windows into Notebird. That option was specified during your initial integration setup.

  • If you are syncing inactive people: When a person is marked as inactive in Church Windows, they will be moved to archived status in Notebird upon next sync.

  • If you are not syncing inactive people: When a person is marked as inactive in Church Windows, they will be removed from Notebird if there are no care updates stored within their profile upon next sync. If a person is marked as inactive in Church Windows and they have care updates stored in Notebird then they will moved to archived status in Notebird. We do this because we never delete your care information. If you marked that person as inactive in Church Windows and want to delete that person and their care updates from Notebird that can easily be done –click here to learn how to delete a person.

Where can I find my Integration ID?

The integration ID can be viewed in Notebird before the sync is completed. Here is the link to view ID #: my.notebird.app/account/integrations.

After the sync is complete you can view your Integration ID within Church Windows.

How do I know if Notebird is linked with Church Windows?

You can find your sync status by clicking this link: my.notebird.app/account/integrationsintegration code will disappear once sync is completed. Sync status will show in its place providing you a clear indication that integration is active.

How do I view upload history?

You can easily see a log of previous imports by clicking 'View Upload Log' within your Notebird Setup view within your Church Windows account. The log will show the following information:

  • Upload Date/Time

  • Total Records Sent to Notebird

  • People Added

  • Updated

  • Preserved

  • Removed

  • Archived

Can I edit the relationship fields in Notebird?

Notebird supports a number of different family relationship types that Church Windows currently does not support. So for data consistency we ask that you manage all household information in Church Windows.

We repeat: ALL households should be created, edited and managed in Church Windows.

What happens when I add new people in Notebird?

Profiles created in Notebird do not relate in any way to Church Windows profiles. They will not be affected or removed upon sync. However, if that profile later comes over in the Church Windows sync, this will cause a duplicate. There is currently no way to merge duplicates. You can add people into Notebird that you don't want showing up in Church Windows.

All new visitors, congregants, members, etc. should be added in Church Windows. All contact information within a person's profile should be added and edited within Church Windows as well.

Can I exclude certain Church Windows logins (users) from trigging the sync to Notebird?

A sync with Notebird is triggered when a Church Windows user logins. There might be a scenario when you don't want a certain user to trigger the sync to Notebird. If that is the case you can disable that ability within the user settings.

  • Click 'Administration' on the home screen

  • Click into Security

  • Click Membership tab

  • Uncheck the 'Allow Notebird upload with this login'

  • Click 'Save & Close'

Did this answer your question?